Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
News & Press: Front Page News

Florida Supreme Court JNC Seeks Applicants for Florida Supreme Court Justice Vacancies

Sunday, December 1, 2019   (0 Comments)
Share |

Application deadline Tuesday, December 24th, 6PM

The Florida Supreme Court Judicial Nominating Commission is accepting applications to fill the vacancies on the Florida Supreme Court created by the resignations of Justice Barbara Lagoa and Justice Robert Luck to assume federal judicial office. Based on the Florida Supreme Court’s current composition, at least one of the justices appointed to fill these two vacancies must be a resident of Florida’s Third Appellate District at the time of appointment.

 

Instructions for Submission

 

The judicial application may be obtained from the Governor’s Judicial Nominations website. Applicants must submit: (1) an original electronic copy of the application (including all attachments) in pdf format; and (2) a redacted electronic copy of the application (including all attachments), which excludes all material that is exempt or confidential under applicable public records laws, also in pdf format. Both the original and redacted electronic applications must be submitted electronically to all commission members at their email addresses below before 6 p.m. on Dec. 24. The commission strongly prefers the submission of applications in a searchable (i.e., non-scanned) pdf format.

 

After the deadline for submitting applications, the commission will determine which applicants to interview. Applicants who are selected by the commission for interviews will be contacted to confirm the date, time and location.

 

The members currently serving on the Florida Supreme Court JNC are:

 

Daniel Nordby, chair, Tallahassee, DNordby@shutts.com

Fred Karlinsky, vice chair, Weston, karlinskyf@gtlaw.com

Cynthia G. Angelos, Port St. Lucie, cynthiagangelos@gmail.com

Jesse M. Panuccio, Palm Beach Gardens, panuccio@gmail.com

Israel U. Reyes, Coral Gables, ireyes@reyeslawfirmpa.com

Hala A. Sandridge, Tampa, hala.sandridge@bipc.com

Heather Stearns, Tallahassee, hstearns@libertydentalplan.com

Jeanne T. Tate, Tampa, jeanne@jtatelaw.com

Harout Samra, Coral Gables, harout.samra@dlapiper.com

 

###

 

About The Florida Bar

Founded in 1949, The Florida Bar serves the legal profession for the protection and benefit of both the public and all Florida lawyers. As one of the nation’s largest mandatory bars, The Florida Bar fosters and upholds a high standard of integrity and competence within Florida’s legal profession as an official arm of the Florida Supreme Court. To learn more, visit FloridaBar.org


more Calendar

7/14/2020
VIRTUAL MEETING: Judicial Relations Committee Meeting

7/16/2020
VIRTUAL MEETING: Veteran & Military Affairs Committee Meeting

7/16/2020
VIRTUAL CLE: Noon in June in July

Featured Members

Meet our Sponsors

 

 

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal